Unable to delete or edit a transaction
Article ID: 2024729 Last updated: 3 April 2014
When a transaction cannot be deleted or edited, the only option made available is to Reverse the transaction instead. There may be a number of reasons why you cannot delete, erase or edit a transaction.
The transaction is from a previous financial year that has now been closed
You can not delete a transaction from a previous year because those financials have been finalised and completed. In this case your only option would be to reverse the transaction and date the reversal with a current financial year date. Please speak to your accountant about the effect this will have on your current financial year's reports.
You have a preference set that doesn't allow deleting or editing of transactions
Go to the Setup menu at the top of your screen and choose Preferences, select the Security tab and un-tick the preference Transactions CAN'T be Changed; They Must be Reversed. You can then proceed with deleting the transaction.
You have a preference set to Lock Periods up to a certain date
Go to the Setup menu at the top of your screen and choose Preferences, select the Security tab and check the status of Lock Periods: Disallow Entries Up to and Including: [date] Once set to an earlier date (or un-ticked), you can then proceed with deleting the transaction. Reset this option if you wish to re-lock the period.
The Sale / Purchase Invoice you are viewing may be Closed
If a Sale or Purchase Invoice has been fully paid it will be classified as a Closed transaction and cannot be edited or deleted. Before the invoice can be edited or deleted you will need to change the status of the invoice back to Open. To do so, open the invoice and click the History button towards the bottom right of the window to view all the transactions attached to this invoice. Open the payment (or one of the payments), click Edit at the top of your screen and Delete or Erase the payment. Once you have edited or deleted your invoice, re-record your payment as necessary. The payment will appear for reconciliation again during the next Bank Reconciliation.
You may be viewing a bank transaction that was originally grouped together with Undeposited Funds
In situations where a bank transaction was originally grouped with Undeposited Funds and then deposited to the Bank via the Prepare Bank Deposit feature, you will need to delete the Bank Deposit that the transaction was grouped with. This will return the transaction (and the other grouped transactions) back to an undeposited state in the Prepare Bank Deposit window from where it can then be deleted.
The Item Invoice you are viewing was entered in MYOB version 11 or earlier
You can not delete Item Sales or Purchase invoices that were entered in MYOB version 11 (circa 2001) or earlier due to changes to the Items List and Invoicing features in later versions of MYOB and Mamut AccountEdge. In this case your only option would be to reverse the transaction and possibly apply the reversal against the original invoice by using the Apply to Sale option within the Returns & Debits section of the Sales Register or Purchase Register.
Click here for more information about Deleting or Reversing a transaction.
Disclaimer: This information is of a generic nature. For specific advice regarding your particular circumstances please seek assistance from your accountant, HMRC or your IT Consultant as appropriate.