Purging Information That is no Longer Needed

Article ID: 2025233             Last Updated: 17 May 2018

 

What does Purging do?

Purging records is the process of removing data from your company file.  Purging data allows you to:

  • Reduce the size of your company file, improving responsiveness and perfomance.
  • Remove batches of transactions and records that you have determined you no longer need to keep.

Purging Records in AccountEdge

  • The purging features described below are only available in AccountEdge 2016 or later.
  • To upgrade to the latest version of AccountEdge, please see here.

What can be purged?

The purging procedure allows you to remove:

  • Journal entries (including prior year paycheques)
  • Closed sales invoices
  • Sales quotes and cards
  • Activity slips
  • Closed purchase invoices
  • Purchase quotes and cards
  • Timesheets
  • Item movements
  • Serial numbers
  • Reminder logs

Important considerations

  • Before purging any information, ensure you have taken a backup of your company file.  For more information about backing up your data, see here.
  • Speak to your IT administrator if you are in any doubt about your backup and restore procedures for your AccountEdge data.
  • If using AccountEdge Plus NE (Network Edition), we recommend that purging records and optimising the company file be carried out on the Host computer, rather than a workstation computer.
  • The purge process cannot be reversed and will require you to restore a backup in order to undo the process, or to view any purged records.
  • You should be careful about purging records and transactions that haven’t been included in necessary reporting. After records and transactions are purged, they will no longer appear in any reports.
  • You are responsible for ensuring that you do not remove any data that is required for accounting, audit, or other legal purposes, by selecting the appropriate parameters for each purge procedure.

To purge information:

  1. Open the company file from which you wish to purge data.
  2. If you have not already made a backup, go to File> Backup and create a backup file. 
    • Ensure you note the name and location of the backup. 
  3. Go to File> Purge and select what you wish to purge.  The purge assistant appears.
  4. Follow each step until all steps in the purge assistant are complete.
    • Please consider and be prepared that purging records can take some time to complete.
  5. Repeat steps 2 - 5 if you wish to purge additional data.

Special considerations for purging activity slips and timesheets

When purging activity slips and timesheets, note the following:

  • If you billed an activity slip on an invoice, you can purge that activity slip only if the invoice on which it was billed has been purged.
  • You can purge a timesheet only if an employee payment for the timesheet’s hours has been made via Process Payroll.
  • If you purge activity slips, any slips with hours on timesheets are not purged. You must purge timesheets to purge the activity slips.
  • If you purge a timesheet, any activity slips on the timesheet are also purged (but only if an employee payment for the timesheet’s hours has been made via Process Payroll).

Why can't I purge certain records?

Some cards, transactions and records cannot be purged depending on their current situation.  You will need to delete these records individually in order to determine the reason that they cannot be purged.

  • Please select the relevant support note here.

Optimise your company file

Once you have completed your purging processes, we recommend you Optimise your company file.  The optimisation process will take advantage of any purges and reduce the company file size.

  1. Go to File> Optimise Company File.
  2. Read the note about a new optimised file being created by the process and click OK when you are ready to continue.
    • Please consider and be prepared that optimising your company file can take some time to complete.
  3. The Optimisation Assistant will start.  When complete, click the Close button.

 

 

Return to AccountEdge Support